Nominations for National Dairy Board Sought

News Editor

The U.S. Department of Agriculture is asking dairy producer and farm organizations to nominate candidates to serve on the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board. Nominations must be submitted by July 20, 2012.

The Secretary of Agriculture will appoint 12 individuals from those nominated to succeed members whose terms expire Oct. 31, 2012. The 12 new members will serve terms ending Oct. 31, 2015.

USDA will accept nominations from the following regions: Region 1 (Alaska, Oregon and Washington); Region 2 (California and Hawaii); Region 4 (Arkansas, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas); Region 5 (Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota); Region 6 (Wisconsin); Region 7 (Illinois, Iowa, Missouri and Nebraska); Region 8 (Idaho); Region 9 (Indiana, Michigan, Ohio and West Virginia); Region 11 (Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey and Pennsylvania); and Region 12 (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont). One member will be appointed for each of Regions 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 11, and 12, and two members will be appointed for each of Regions 2 and 6.

USDA established the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board under the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983 to develop and administer a coordinated program of promotion, research and nutrition education. The 38-member board is authorized to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry’s position in domestic and foreign markets. The program is financed by a mandatory 15-cent per hundredweight assessment on all milk produced and marketed commercially, and a 7.5 cents per hundredweight assessment on milk, or equivalent thereof, on dairy products imported into the United States.

Source: USDA