Jersey Names Leadership

News Editor

Officers and directors of the USJersey organizations were elected during the Annual Meetings of the American Jersey Cattle Association (AJCA) and National All-Jersey Inc. (NAJ) held June 29 and 30, 2012 in North Conway, N.H.

Chris Sorenson, Pine River, Wis., was elected to a one-year term as President of the American Jersey Cattle Association. Sorenson is a partner in Hillview Jersey Farm, a family corporation formed in 1982. The 850-acre farm is home to a 100-cow Registered Jersey™ herd enrolled on REAP (registration, Equity, type appraisal and performance programs). A five-year director of the AJCA, he was co-chair of the 2011 National Heifer Sale that raised over $300,000 for Jersey Youth Academy.

Elected as Vice President for a one-year term was William Grammer, Sebring, Ohio. Grammer is chair of the AJCA Development Committee and serves as an ex officio director of National All-Jersey Inc.

Corey Lutz, Lincolnton, N.C., was elected to a three-year term as AJCA Director from the Sixth District, succeeding two-term director and retiring Vice President Richard A. Doran, Jr., Newberry, S.C. He and wife Bridgette own and operate Piedmont Jerseys, a 200-cow herd enrolled in AJCA’s REAP program. Lutz is currently president of the North Carolina Jersey Association, associate general chair of The All American Jersey Shows & Sales, and a past chair of the AJCA Type Advisory Committee.

Three sitting Directors were re-elected to a second three-year term: Ralph Frerichs, La Grange, Texas (Eighth District); David Norman, Liberty, Penna. (Third District); and Wesley Snow, Brookfield, Vt. (First District).

Walter Owens, Frederic, Wis., was appointed to fill the Tenth District seat vacated by Chris Sorenson. Owens is a two-time president of the Wisconsin Jersey Breeders Association and currently serves on the Select Sires Inc. Jersey sire committee. He served on the Wisconsin Department of Commerce’s Dairy 20/20 Initiative and more than 30 years on the Polk-Burnett DHI Board, 10 years as president. In 2011, he was a co-chair of the all-donation 54th National Heifer Sale.

Chairs of standing committees on the AJCA Board for 2012-13 are Jerry Spielman, Seneca, Kans., Finance; Charles Steer, Cottage Grove, Tenn., Breed Improvement; William Grammer, Development; and James Quist, Fresno, Calif., Registration.

David Endres, Lodi, Wis., was elected to serve his fourth term as president of National All-Jersey Inc. (NAJ).

James S. Huffard III, Crockett, Va., was re-elected NAJ director from District #1, and also the organization’s Vice President for 2012-13. Chairman of the Finance Committee will be Kelvin Moss, Litchfield Park, Ariz.

Source: American Jersey Cattle Association

Jersey Association