Milk Producers Welcome New Coop, Board Members

John Davis

nmpfFour new dairy cooperatives are joining as members of the National Milk Producers Federation (NMPF), along with two new board members and one new board officer for the group. The announcement came as NMPF wrapped up its 2014 annual meeting.

The new cooperative members are Bongards’ Creameries, Norwood, Minnesota; Cortland Bulk Milk Producers Cooperative, Cortland, New York; Mount Joy Farmers Cooperative Association, Mount Joy, Pennsylvania, and Oneida-Madison Milk Producers Cooperative Association, Sherrill, New York.

These new members bring the number of dairy cooperatives in NMPF to 31. NMPF members market the majority of the milk produced in the United States, making NMPF the voice of more than 32,000 dairy producers on Capitol Hill and with government agencies.

The two new NMPF board members are Michael Doyle, president and CEO of Foremost Farms USA in Baraboo, Wisconsin, and Scot Meyer, board member of Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery, Ellsworth, Wisconsin. In addition, board member Keith Murfield, CEO of United Dairymen of Arizona, was elected to serve as secretary of the organization.

NMPF also recognized six outgoing board members for their service to the organization. Those receiving certificates of appreciation were William Blalock, Cooperative Milk Producers Association; Albert Knegendorf, Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery; Dennis Donohue, FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative; David Newhouse, Farmers Cooperative Creamery; Dave Fuhrmann, Foremost Farms USA; and Donald DeJong, Select Milk Producers. NMPF also presented its Political Action Committee Award to board member Dan Senestraro of Dairy Farmers of America.

Dairy, Dairy Group, National Milk