Webinar for Small Meat Processors

Kelly Marshall

NMPAN-header_r1_c1Niche Meat Processors Network (NMPAN) will be hosting a webinar in collaboration with Food Safety and Inspection Serivice to help producers understand the process for making specialty fermented and dried meat products.  With food products like jerky and biltong growing in popularity there are an increasing number of small processors making these items available.  HACCP requires these products to undergo “validated” processes to kill pathogens.

This webinar will teach small processors about tools that small processors can use to assure their products are safe and in compliance with regulations. It is an online version of a recent symposium at the 2015 International Association for Food Protection Conference in Portland, Oregon.

Speakers will be Meryl Silverman of the USDA-FSIS, Mohammad Koohmaraie from IEH Laboratories & Consulting Group and Barbara Ingham, University of Wisconsin-Madison.  The 90 minute presentation is scheduled for September 30, 2015 at 1 PM Eastern, noon Central, 11 AM Mountain, 10 AM Pacific.

You do not need to pre-register to attend.  Simply go to https://connect16.uc.att.com/usda/meet/?ExEventID=85277207 a few minutes before the program is to begin and follow on-screen instructions. Call-in using telephone (888) 844-9904; passcode 5277207

The presentation will be using the FSIS webinar service, so please test that link with your computer ahead of time.

Agribusiness, Beef, Webinar