2016 America’s Pig Farmer of the Year Finalists Announced

Jamie Johansen

pig farmerThe National Pork Board has announced the four finalists who are vying to become 2016 America’s Pig Farmer of the Year. The program honors a U.S. pig farmer each year who excels at raising pigs using the We CareSM ethical principles and is committed to sharing his or her farming story with the American public.

“The four finalists represent the diversity of the pork industry in the United States,” said National Pork Board President Jan Archer, a pig farmer from Goldsboro, North Carolina. “They exemplify the best in pig farming and in taking the lead on environmental sustainability, animal welfare and continuous improvement.

The 2016 finalists are:
Craig Andersen – Centerville, South Dakota
Jarrod Bakker – Dike, Iowa
Brad Greenway – Mitchell, South Dakota
Maria Mauer – Greensburg, Indiana

The four finalists are meeting today with an expert panel of third-party judges in Chicago. The judges will view videos produced at the finalists’ farms and will interview each of them.

From Sept. 1 through Sept. 10, the public can vote once a day per person per email address for their favorite finalist at www.americaspigfarmer.com. The winner will be announced Oct. 11.

Ag Group, Farming, Pig, Pork, Pork Checkoff