New Beef Board Members

News EditorBeef Checkoff

Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Chuck Conner today announced 35 appointments and one interim appointment to the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning Feb.3, 2007. The interim appointee will serve a 2-year term.

Appointed members representing cattle producers by state and unit are: Judy E. Prosser, Ariz.; I. Jack Cowley and Richard L. Nock, Calif.; Roger L. Evans, Colo.; Jeffrey L. Clausen and Robert L. Johnson, Iowa; Jerald L. Bohn and Don H. Hullman, Kan.; T. Barrett Porter, La.; Charles E. Markley, Mich.; Aquilla M. Ward, Mid-Atlantic; John C. Schafer, Minn.; Charles R. Hull, Miss.; Jerry R. King, Mo.; Kristy L. Lage and David C. Lamb, Neb.; Preston T. Wright, Nev.; Margaret D. McKeen, N.M.; Roger M. Pendleton, N.C.; Lucinda M. Williams, Northeast; Bill D. Boyer, Okla.; Allen L. Walth and Myron J. Williams, S.D.; Jennifer A. Senn, Southeast; Robert J. Reviere, Jr., Tenn.; Peter F. Case, Justin P. Dauer, Charles A. Kiker III, and Walter E. Lasley, Texas; Richard V. Nielson, Utah; Mark E. Riechers and Nancy L. Thomas, Wis.; Dianne S. Kirkbride, Wyo.

The 104-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importers certified organizations. The board oversees collection of $1-per-head on all cattle sold in the United States, and $1-per-head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the board contracts with established national, non-profit, industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.