Dairy Farmers Appointed to National Board

News EditorDairy Checkoff, usda

Congratulations to the following dairy farmers who were appointed to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board by Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.

All appointees’ terms will begin immediately with terms ending October 31, 2014.

Newly appointed members are: Kima L. Simonson, Washington (Region 1); Lynda S. Foster, Kansas (Region 4); John R. Howerton, Arkansas (Region 4); Amber L. Horn-Leiterman, Wisconsin (Region 6); Larry R. Shover, Iowa (Region 7); Julie A. Veldhuis Lund, Idaho (Region 8); Urban A. Mescher, Ohio (Region 9); Celeste Y. Deaderick Blackburn, Tennessee (Region 10); and Harold J. Howrigan, Jr., Vermont (Region 12).

Reappointed to serve second terms were: Ronald E. Shelton, Colorado (Region 3); Kenton W. Holle, North Dakota (Region 5); and Sharon K. Laubscher, Wisconsin (Region 6).

The Dairy Board was established under the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983, as amended, to develop and administer a coordinated program of promotion, research, and nutrition education. The 38-member Dairy Board is authorized to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry’s position in domestic and foreign markets. The program is financed by a mandatory 15-cent per hundredweight assessment on all milk marketed commercially and a 7.5-cent per hundredweight assessment, or equivalent thereof, on milk and dairy products imported into the United States.

Source: USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service