Over $12,500 Awarded to College Aggies Online Winners

Jamie JohansenAdvocate, Ag Group, Animal Ag Alliance, award, Education

caoThe Animal Agriculture Alliance has announced the results of its 7th annual College Aggies Online (CAO) scholarship competition. The program is a nationwide initiative aimed at helping college students and collegiate agriculture clubs utilize social media and community engagement to share agriculture’s story.

In the Individual division, the winners are:
First place: Jessica Miller, Oklahoma State University, $2,500
Second place: Jennifer Weinberg, George Washington University, $1,000
Third place: Heather Abeita, New Mexico State University, $500

In the Student Organization division, the winners are:
First place: Agriculture Club, Western Illinois University, $5,000
Second place: Gator Collegiate CattleWomen, University of Florida, $2,500
Third place: Sigma Alpha, University of Missouri, $1,000

In addition to the scholarship prizes, the top individuals and representatives from the winning organizations will receive a trip to the Alliance’s 2016 Stakeholders Summit in Washington, D.C. to be formally recognized.

CAO is an online competition open to all college students with an interest in agriculture. Since its launch in 2009, more than 4,000 college students from more than 175 different colleges and universities have competed in the program. The Alliance wishes to thank the 2015 College Aggies Program sponsors, which include Tyson Foods, Inc., Dairy Management, Inc. (DMI), National Pork Industry Foundation, National Turkey Federation, United Soybean Board, Ohio Poultry Association, American Dairy Science Association, Belstra Milling Company and Pennsylvania Beef Council.