NPPC Elects New Officers

Lizzy SchultzAg Group, Industry News, NPPC, Pork

nppc-weber Last Saturday, the National Pork Producers Council (NPPC) elected several new officers and members to its board of directors at the National Pork Industry Forum, the annual business meeting for the NPPC

Elected as president of the organization was John Weber, a pork producer from Dysart, Iowa. Weber is a graduate of Iowa State University, earning a degree in animal science. He raises hogs that are processed by JBS and manages with his son Valley Lane Farms Inc., a grain and livestock operation in Tama Co.

Weber has served on the NPPC board of directors for the past five years, and was president-elect of the association for the past year. In addition to being an officer since 2013, he has served on several NPPC committees, including the Strategic Investment Program Marketing Committee, the Environmental Policy Committee, the Feed Availability Committee and the Farm Bill Policy Task Force.

He also serves on the Iowa Pork Producers Association board of directors, serving as President in 2010, as well as on its Public Policy Committee. He’s a member of the board of directors of Iowa Pork Promotions Inc., and he’s active in his local farm bureau.

“John’s long years of service to the pork industry and his experienced and thoughtful leadership will be big assets as he guides NPPC as president for the next year,” said NPPC CEO Neil Dierks. “The U.S. pork industry will benefit tremendously having John at the helm of this organization.”

Ken Maschhoff, a pork producer from Carlyle, Illinois, was elevated to president-elect, and board member Jim Heimerl, of Johnstown, Ohio, was chosen as vice president.

Re-elected to the board for another three-year term were Jim Compart, of Nicollet, Minnesota, Maschhoff and AV Roth, of Wauzeka, Wisconsin. Board member Kent Bang was re-elected to a two-year term for the Allied Industry Council seat. Jen Sorensen, of Ankeny, Iowa, with Iowa Select Farms, was elected as a new member of the board for a three-year term.

Re-elected to the NPPC Nominating Committee, which vets candidates for the board, was Duane Stateler, a producer from Ohio. Joe Baldwin, a producer from Indiana, also was elected to the committee.