Texas A&M Wins 69th USPOULTRY Poultry Judging Contest

Jamie JohansenAg Group, contest, Education, Poultry, US Poultry

2016_USPOULTRY_TexasA&MWinners copy

The winning Texas A&M University team (left to right): Jason Lee, Jacob Leopold, Taylor Olsovsky, Bailey Miller, Daniel Deleon, Sarah Kruse and Kyle Brown.

Texas A&M University wins the High Team Overall category at the 69th USPOULTRY Foundation Ted Cameron National Poultry Judging Contest, held at Louisiana State University. LSU placed a close second. Additionally, Trent Dugas, senior at LSU, was announced high individual overall winner, and Bailey Miller, senior at Texas A&M University, finished second overall.

Eleven universities participated in this year’s competition in production judging, breed selection and market products judging, including Kansas State University, Louisiana State University, Mississippi State University, North Carolina State University, Ohio State University, Penn State University, Texas A&M University, University of Arkansas, University of North Georgia, University of Wisconsin-River Falls and West Virginia University.

The contest is funded through a grant from Mountaire Corp. in honor of Ted Cameron, past chairman of Mountaire. The contest is part of the USPOULTRY Foundation’s comprehensive student outreach program and was established to enhance young people’s interest in the poultry industry and encourage student enrollment in poultry science and related studies.