AFIA Welcomes New Leadership At DC Meeting

Lizzy SchultzAFIA, Ag Group, Company Announcement, Feed, legislation, Policy

afia-phillips Members of the American Feed Industry Association’s (AFIA) Board of Directors met in Washington, D.C. last week to discuss current policy issues affecting the animal food industry, including the cumbersome Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA).

The group attended a legislative briefing at the U.S. Capitol Building during the trip, and board members promoted AFIA positions on proposed legislation for GMO labeling, FDA Animal Food Amendments Act and the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP).

The Board also recognized Rob Sheffer for his leadership as the association’s chair during the 2015-16 year, and welcomed his successor, Paul Phillips.

Phillips, the president of Maxi-Lift Inc., and vice president of Southwest Agri-Plastics, Inc., has served on both AFIA’s Board and Executive Committee, as well as its Equipment Manufacturer Committee since 2015. He was a founding member of the Board of Trustees for AFIA’s foundation, the Institute for Feed Education & Research (IFEEDER). In 2011, Phillips received the AFIA Member of the Year award. Phillips’ one-year term as chair is effective as of May 1.

Lee Hall, of Hallway Feeds, was nominated to become chair-elect of the organization, and will succeed Phillips in May 2017.

The following individuals were elected to three-year terms on the AFIA Board and began their service during the meeting: George Betton, Perdue Farms; Jeff Cannon, Diamond V; Paul Davis, Tennessee Farmers Cooperative; Marc de Beer, DSM Nutritional Products; Phil Greene, Foster Farms Inc.; Jonathan Griffin, Balchem Corporation; Rurik Halaby, AgriCapital Corporation; Guy Harari, Adisseo USA Inc.; Marty Hudak-Roos, Nature’s Variety; Paul Kalmbach, Kalmbach Feeds, Inc.; Mark Lueking, Cargill Animal Nutrition; Dan Meagher, Agrivida Inc.; Chad Risley, Berg+Schmidt America, LLC; Mike Van Koevering; Elanco Animal Health; Doug Webel, JBS United, Inc.; and Russ Wyllie, Zinpro Corporation.

The six nominated individuals chosen as additions to AFIA’s Executive Committee were approved: Cory Berg, Quality Liquid Feeds; Scott Drucker, Church & Dwight Company; John Howe, Manna Pro Products; Mike Hudspith, Ridley, Inc.; Diane Loiselle, Hill’s Pet Nutrition; and Mike Manning, F. L. Emmert Company.