Elanco Awards Poultry Memorial Scholarships

Jamie JohansenAgribusiness, Education, Elanco, Poultry, scholarship, Veterinary

Elanco Animal Health in collaboration with the American Association of Avian Pathologists (AAAP) Foundation, awarded two scholarships to students pursuing degrees in poultry science and veterinary medicine through the Elanco Memorial Scholarships which honors the memory of past Elanco poultry veterinarians and scientists by supporting learning opportunities for future generations. “We are proud to honor the memories of Dr. Samantha … Read More

Students Awarded Pork Industry Scholarships

Jamie JohansenAg Group, NPPC, scholarship, Swine

During the 2017 National Pork Industry Forum, the National Pork Producers Council (NPPC) awarded scholarships to 10 college students who intend to pursue careers in the pork industry. The 2017 Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarship is sponsored by CME Group and the National Pork Industry Foundation. The 2017 winners of the $2,500 Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarships are: … Read More

Ten Students Awarded CME Beef Industry Scholarships

Jamie JohansenAg Group, Beef, Cattle, NCBA, scholarship

Ten college students, who are pursuing careers in the beef industry, have been chosen for the 2017-2018 $1,500 CME Beef Industry Scholarships. The scholarship is sponsored by the CME Group and administered by the National Cattlemen’s Foundation (NCF). Taylre Sitz of Bozeman, Mont., is the overall essay winner. “We’re pleased continue our support of the CME Beef Industry Scholarships, which … Read More

2016 College Aggies Online Scholarship Winners

Jamie JohansenAdvocate, Ag Group, Animal Ag Alliance, Education, scholarship, Social Media

The Animal Agriculture Alliance announced the winners of its annual College Aggies Online (CAO) scholarship program. In the individual competition, the winners were: – First place, $2500 scholarship: Topanga McBride, junior in agricultural communications and agricultural economics, Kansas State University – Second place, $1000 scholarship: Brianna Gwirtz, junior in agricultural communications, The Ohio State University – Third place, $500 scholarship: … Read More

Dairy Checkoff Awards 13 Scholarships

Lizzy SchultzAg Group, award, Dairy Checkoff, scholarship, University

13 academic scholarships were recently awarded to college students who intend to serve as future leaders of the dairy industry. The scholarships, presented by The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB) through Dairy Management Inc. and the national dairy checkoff, awarded each student with $2,500. One outstanding student was also awarded the $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship. … Read More

College Aggies Online Competition Launches Sept. 19th

Jamie JohansenAg Group, Animal Ag Alliance, Education, Livestock, scholarship, Social Media

The Animal Agriculture Alliance’s annual College Aggies Online (CAO) scholarship program will kick off on Monday, September 19th. CAO is designed to help college students with an interest in agriculture become confident, positive and proactive communicators while competing for scholarship funds. Competitors can register for the individual or student organization divisions. “The CAO program continues to grow and thrive, and … Read More

Sheep Heritage Foundation Memorial Scholarship

Jamie JohansenAg Group, ASI, Genetics, scholarship, Sheep

Chris Posbergh has been named the winner of the $3,000 Sheep Heritage Foundation Memorial scholarship from the American Sheep Industry, with his research project on increasing efficiency in sheep production using genetics. A is a Ph.D. student at New York’s Cornell University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in animal science in May 2015. He has two objectives: to identify … Read More

NJAA Recognizes Members at NJAS

Lizzy SchultzAg Group, Angus, award, Beef, Education, scholarship

The National Junior Angus Association (NJAA) recently recognized several exemplary NJAA members the National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) in Grand Island, Neb. Bob and Becky Tiedeman, Sarah McCall, and Joe and Susanne Bush all received honors and recognitions for their unique contributions to the NJAA. Bob and Becky Tiedeman, and Joe and Susanne Bush, were each named the newest inductees … Read More

Pork Checkoff Awards 22 Pork Industry Scholarships

Jamie JohansenAg Group, Education, Pork, Pork Checkoff, scholarship, Swine

The Pork Checkoff has awarded 22 scholarships to college students around the United States as part of its strategy to develop the pork industry’s future leaders. Recipients were selected based on scholastic merit, leadership activities, involvement in the pork production industry and future plans for a career in pork production. “The 2016 scholarship winners will positively impact the swine industry … Read More