Dairy Promotion Directors Elect 2009 Board Officers

News EditorDairy Checkoff, Industry News

Producer leaders of Dairy Management Inc.™ (DMI), the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB) and the United Dairy Industry Association (UDIA) elected the following dairy producers as the 2008-09 officers at their joint annual meeting (held in conjunction with the National Milk Producers Federation) in Nashville, Tenn.

DMI, which manages the national dairy producer checkoff program, is funded by the NDB and UDIA. New DMI officers are:
Chair – Paul Rovey, Glendale, Ariz.
Vice Chair – Ryan Anglin, Bentonville, Ark.
Secretary – John Larson, Okeechobee, Fla.
Treasurer – David “Skip” Hardie, Lansing, N.Y.

The 36-member NDB, formed in May 1984 under the authority of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, carries out coordinated promotion and research programs to help build demand and expand domestic and international markets for U.S.-produced dairy products and ingredients. NDB oversees the national dairy producer checkoff. New NDB officers are:
Chair – Kimberly Clauss, Hilmar, Calif.
Vice Chair – Paula Meabon, Wattsburg, Penn.
Secretary – Sanford Stauffer, Nicholville, N.Y.
Treasurer – Grant Kohler, Midway, Utah

UDIA is a federation of state and regional dairy producer-funded promotion organizations that provide marketing programs that are developed and implemented in coordination with its members. UDIA is overseen by a board comprised of dairy producers elected by their respective boards of their member organizations. New UDIA officers are:
Chair – Bill Siebenborn, Trenton, Mo.
1st Vice Chair – Neil Hoff, Windthorst, Texas
2nd Vice Chair, American Dairy Association® (ADA) Chairman – David Weitzer, Poolesville, Md.
2nd Vice Chair, National Dairy Council® (NDC) Chairman – Les Hardesty, Greeley, Colo.
2nd Vice Chair, UDIA member relations – Billy Travis, Princeton, Ky.
Secretary – Steve Frischknecht, Manti, Utah
Treasurer – Allen Merrill, Parker, S.D.

ADA is the domestic marketing arm of DMI. New ADA officers are:
Chair – David Weitzer
Vice Chair – Jerrel Heatwole, Greenwood, Del.
Secretary – Tom Magnant, Franklin, Vt.
Treasurer – Gerald Fieser, DeLeon Springs, Fla.

New NDC officers are:

Chair – Les Hardesty
Vice Chair – Paul Broering, St. Henry, Ohio
Secretary – Joan Smith, Sauquoit, N.Y.
Treasurer – John Crawford, Keller, Texas