2017 American Hereford Association Board

Jamie JohansenAg Group, Beef, Cattle, Hereford

Pictured is the 2017 American Hereford Association (AHA) Board of Directors. Seated (l to r) are: Terri Barber, Channing, Texas, president; vice president; Kevin Schultz, Haviland, Kan.; Dave Bielema, Grand Rapids, Mich.; Joe Van Newkirk, Oshkosh, Neb.; and Jack Ward, Kansas City, Mo., executive vice president. Directors standing (l to r) are: Bruce Thomas, Gold Creek, Mont.; Bob Thompson, Rolla, Mo.; Jim Bellis, Aurora, Mo.; Kyle Perez, Nara Visa, N.M.; Joel Birdwell, Kingfisher, Okla.; Jim Mickelson, Santa Rosa, Calif.; Tommy Mead, Midville, Ga.; and Peter Atkins, Tea, S.D.

Terri Barber is the new president of the American Hereford Association (AHA). Barber has been involved in the Hereford business since birth. Her family owns and operates Barber Ranch, Channing, Texas.

“Serving as our AHA president is a prestigious honor that both humbles and inspires me to serve our membership in the most effective and enlightened way possible,” Barber said. “One of the most rewarding opportunities all members of AHA can experience is serving your membership on the Board of Directors. There’s no better way to learn, grow and contribute to the all-important decision making processes that have and will continue to make our breed prosperous. Special thanks to those who invested your confidence and trust in my leadership when being elected to the Board in 2013 as well as your president this year.”

Selected to serve as the 2016 vice president was Kevin Schultz, Haviland, Kan. Schultz manages his family’s Sandhill Farms, a seven-generation, diversified farming and cattle operation. Hereford cattle have been bred on their land since the mid-1900s and includes about 300 cows. With the maturity of Conservation Reserve Program acres, the Schultz family is in an expansion phase. Through the use of embryo transfer (ET), approximately 200 of the calves are registered, and the balance will be purebred commercial.

Delegates elected three new directors during the membership meeting. Joel Birdwell, Kingfisher, Okla.; Tommy Mead, Midville, Ga.; and Bruce Thomas, Gold Creek, Mont., will serve four-year terms on the 12-member Board. Completing their terms on the AHA Board were outgoing president Sam Shaw, Caldwell, Idaho; Curtis Curry, McAlester, Okla.; and Jonny Harris, Screven, Ga.