AQHA Elects New Executive Committee

Lizzy SchultzAg Group, AQHA, Company Announcement, Equine

The American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) elected a new Executive Committee on March 20 at the 2017 AQHA Convention in San Antonio. The five-person Executive Committee is responsible for implementing the decisions of AQHA members through the board of directors and governing AQHA between the annual meetings of the membership and the board.

Each member serves a term of one year until the selection of his/her successor.

Ralph Seekins of Fairbanks, Alaska, was elected as President. Seekins has been an AQHA director since 2006 for Washington/Alaska and was elevated to director emeritus in 2016. He has also served on the AQHA Marketing and Membership Committee, the Foundation Council and the AQHA Public Policy Committee.

Dr. Jim Heird was elected as First Vice President. Dr. Heird served as an AQHA director for Colorado in 2009 and became a director for Texas in 2011. He was also the chairman of the judges committee, show committee, international committee, show council, and the Animal Welfare Commission. He currently serves as executive professor and coordinator of equine initiatives at Texas A&M University.

Stan Weaver of Big Sandy, Montana, was elected as Second Vice President. He has been an AQHA director since 2011, and is a former member of the studbook and registration, public policy and Hall of Fame selection committees; Foundation, marketing and ranching councils; and served as chairman of the ranching council. He was also instrumental in developing the AQHA Ranching Heritage Breeders program.

Two new Members, Butch Wise and Norm Luba, were also elected to the committee this week. Wise was named an honorary AQHA vice president in 2015, and currently serves as the Executive Committee representative on the racing council. He was the chairman of the Hall of Fame committee from 2013 to 2015 and also served as chairman of the racing council. In 2014, he was a member of the AQHA Governance Task Force.

Luba has been an AQHA life member since 1995 and an AQHA director since 2011. He has served on the AQHA Stud Book and Registration Committee for the past three years. Norm has served on the AQHA Public Policy Committee and the affiliate council.