Dairy Checkoff Awards 13 Scholarships

Lizzy SchultzAg Group, award, Dairy Checkoff, scholarship, University

dmi 13 academic scholarships were recently awarded to college students who intend to serve as future leaders of the dairy industry. The scholarships, presented by The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB) through Dairy Management Inc. and the national dairy checkoff, awarded each student with $2,500. One outstanding student was also awarded the $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

College students majoring in journalism, communications/public relations, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science or agriculture education are eligible for the scholarship, which considers each applicant’s interest in a dairy-related career and their demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity along with academic achievement.

Laura Jensen from the University of Minnesota is this year’s winner of the James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship. Students earning $2,500 scholarships are:

Lauren Chirnside (University of Wisconsin), Morgan Goche (South Dakota State), Simon Itle (Penn State), Kristin Mohr (South Dakota State), Shayna Popkes (South Dakota State), Mariah Schmitt (Iowa State), Audrey Schmitz (Kansas State), Lauren Sipple (University of Wisconsin), Gabriella Sorg (University of Minnesota), Audrey Souza (South Dakota State), Maggie Stiles (South Dakota State) and Jacob Weg (South Dakota State).